The CAD Contest at ICCAD is a challenging, multi-month, research and development competition, focusing on advanced, real-world problems in the field of Electronic Design Automation (EDA). It is open to multi-person teams world-wide. Each year the organizing committee announce three challenging problems in different topic areas provided by industrial companies. Contestants can participate in one or more problems. The prizes will be awarded at an ICCAD special session dedicated to this contest.

Since its inaugural year of 2012, the CAD Contest at ICCAD has been attracting more than a hundred teams per year, fostering productive industry-academia collaborations, and leading to hundreds of publications in top-tier conferences and journals. The contest undoubtedly boosts EDA research and keeps enhancing its impact.

Contest Problems

Problem A
Reinforcement Logic Optimization for a General Cost Function
(Cadence Design Systems, Inc.)
Problem B
Power and Timing Optimization Using Multibit Flip-Flop
(Synopsys, Inc.)
Problem C
Scalable Logic Gate Sizing Using ML Techniques and GPU Acceleration
(Arizona State University and NVIDIA Research)

Tentative Schedule
Registration deadline 2024.05.10 17:00:00 (GMT+8) 2024.05.17 17:00:00 (GMT+8)
Alpha test submission 2024.06.17 17:00:00 (GMT+8) 2024.06.28 17:00:00 (GMT+8)
Beta test submission 2024.07.22 17:00:00 (GMT+8)
Final submission
2024.08.26 17:00:00 (GMT+8)
Award ceremony To be announced

Awards for each Problem
1st Place Award

NTD 70,000 / team (approx. US$ 2,350)
Certificate / person

2nd Place Award

NTD 40,000 / team (approx. US$ 1,350)
Certificate / person

3rd Place Award
NTD 40,000 / team (approx. US$ 1,350)
Certificate / person

Honorable Mentions
Certificate / person
   ***Important Notice***
1. The recipients of monetary awards must be students.
2. The amount of monetary awards in US dollars may change due to currency fluctuation.
3. According to the Law of Taiwan, 10% of the monetary award will be deducted if the recipient is a Taiwanese taxpayer, whereas it is 20% if the recipient is a non-Taiwanese taxpayer.
4. We reserve the right to adjust the numbers of prize winners and honorable mentions.

Organizing Committee

Contest Chair Shao-Yun Fang
National Taiwan University of Science and Technology, Taiwan
Contest Co-chairs Yi-Yu Liu
National Taiwan University of Science and Technology, Taiwan

Chung-Kuan Cheng
University of California, San Diego

Tsun-Ming Tseng
Technical University of Munich

Topic Chairs
Chung-Han Chou, Kwangsoo-Han, Chih-Jen (Jacky) Hsu, Chi-An (Rocky) Wu, and Kuan-Hua Tu
(Cadence Design Systems, Inc.)

Sheng-Wei Yang, Tzu-Hsuan Chen, Jhih-Wei Hsu, Ting Wei Li, and Cindy Shen
(Synopsys, Inc.)

Bing-Yue Wu, Rongjian Liang, Geraldo Pradipta, Anthony Agnesina, Haoxing Ren, and Vidya A. Chhabria
(Arizona State University and NVIDIA Research)

IEEE Council on Electronic Design Automation

ACM Special Interest Group on Design Automation

Ministry of Education, Taiwan


Copyright © 2024 CAD Contest. All Rights Reserved.